Learn to Speak Japanese – Simple Phrases


Do your best!
Ganbatte Kudasai

Are you all right?
Daijoubu desu ka?

I’m all right.
Daijoubu desu.

Here you are. (Offering a favor)
Douzo.

Please do it. (Requesting a favor – Literally means ‘I beg you’)
Onegai shimasu.

Thank you (very much)
(Doumo) arigatou gozaimasu

Thanks.
Arigatou/Doumo.

You’re welcome.
Douitashimashite.


I don’t understand.
Wakarimasen/Wakaranai

Excuse me. (Getting attention)
Sumimasen

I’m sorry.
Gomen nasai.

Is that so?
Aa sou desu ka?

That’s tough isn’t it.
Taihen desu ne.

How unfortunate.
Zannen desu ne.

Excuse me. (I am rude)
Shitsurei shimasu

You must be tired. (Said to someone leaving work for home)
Otsukare samma deshita.

Excuse me. (Said when entering someone’s home)
Ojama shimasu

Cheers! (Say cheers before drinking)
Kanpai

No, that’s ok. (Said when refusing something.)
Iie, kekkou desu.

It can’t be helped.
Shou ga nai.

I receive. (Said before having a meal)
Itadakimasu.

Thank you for the meal. (Said after having a meal)
Gochisou sama deshita.

About ayumilove

I am Ayumilove, if you see some impersonators its not me.

10 responses to “Learn to Speak Japanese – Simple Phrases”

  1. shayla says :

    i always loved jaspense music and jaspense life styles EVERY ONE MAKES FUN OF ME! but when i get older i’m going to move to japan

  2. Sindre says :

    I really LOVE japanese, and I have a book called “Japanese in Mangaland” but quickly lost interest because of pages on pages of sentences. I know that it`s important with repetion but when it`s like page on page with looong phrases and writings it quickly “pushes you away”. But this made it a lot, A LOT easier to get the basic phrases. Thatks a LOT!

  3. Bill says :

    Great job. Japanese idioms like some of these make up so much of the language that one could instantly start to pick these phrases out of conversations.

    Check out this Learn to Speak Japanese Review page too.

  4. Nick says :

    Finally, a blog that teaches real Japanese. Learning the basics is always fun, but frustrating. Japanese dramas are great for getting past the basics. When I lived in Japan I would rent dramas and watch them over and over.

    Speak Japanese Fluently

  5. FookooKage says :

    Watashi is mainly used by women I believe, but there are some occasions where men choose to use watashi.
    Boku is the male version of ‘watashi’.
    You can also use Watakushi. It is more polite.

  6. MrSwéltéréd says :

    Doumo arigatou gozaimasu for all 😀

  7. poko says :

    Tadayima! = I’m back?

    yi ta da ki ma su! = I’m gonna start eating?

    Am I right? Guess I remember more than I thought. XD

  8. poko says :

    Is Ayumi a Japanese name? What is its Kanji?

  9. poko says :

    Isn’t “watashi” the translation of “I”? My father taught me Japanese when I was 4. I even had a pen pal from shizuka?(静岡?). But now, Watashi and how to count to 10 are all I can remember.

    oh, wait, I also know “ichiban”(best?) from take out menus and “aijou”(love?) from Japanese TV shows.

    😉

