What is the difference between compare and contrast?


What differs both of them?
I often see this phrase “compare and contrast” in questions, exams, essay papers and etc.
After “googling” around for answer, I stumbled into 2 sites that provide simple explanation, easy to digest!

Define compare and contrast: [Source]
a) Compare: explains how two items are similar.
b) Contrast: emphasizes the differences rather than the similarities.

Dictionary.net : Compare [Source]
To examine the character or qualities of, as of two or more persons or things, for the purpose of discovering their resemblances or differences; to bring into comparison; to regard with discriminating attention.

Dictioinary.net : Contrast [Source]
To set in opposition, or over against, in order to show the differences between, or the comparative excellences and defects of; to compare by difference or contrariety of qualities; as, to contrast the present with the past.

Summary
“Compare” is show similarities and differences, while “Contrast” shows the differences.

About ayumilove

I am Ayumilove, if you see some impersonators its not me.

17 responses to “What is the difference between compare and contrast?”

  1. hichem says :

    thanks to all who said “thank you” for ayumilove.

  2. kithia patrick mutethia says :

    denx lots u’v really saved my tym!

  3. thin-thin says :

    thank’s for this information ‘cos it can give me an idea if what comparison is, and what contrast is.

  4. Pedro says :

    Pedro :

    Pedro :
    I really thank you for this information. I’ve always won
    dered about these differences…

  5. Pedro says :

    Pedro :
    I really thank you for this information. I’ve always won
    dered about thse differences…

  6. Pedro says :

    I really thank you for this information. I’ve always wapondered about thse differences…

  7. Nenet says :

    You’re so good to advance this action to help the future need of others. God bless you.

  8. forsa says :

    thank you , you explain the difference with simple expression

  9. Kammy says :

    thank you! Just saved me loads of time!!

  10. James says :

    You saved my day I love you.

  11. SD says :

    thanks for that,it really helped as it was so simple and effective.
    thanks again

  12. Ian says :

    the second dictionary.net is spelled wrong (Dictioinary.net)

  13. Nick says :

    Thanks alot man this helps out a lot to write my paper life is so much easier now bc of u

  14. lolla says :

    it’s so easy to help us thanks alot

  15. aaulaygae says :

    i need to know what is the diffrence betwwen acompare and acontrst this is a home work problem

  16. Birzhan says :

    Than you…this info was very helpful!!!

  17. Nadine says :

    Thank you for the info! I was asked to do a ‘compare and contrast’ paper and found the whole idea quite confusing.. so this was good to read! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

